Warwick-Oxbridge-Manchester-Bristol-London (WOMBL) 1-day meeting @ Cambridge 2019

WOMBL @ Cambridge 2019

The ninth 1-day meeting in additive combinatorics and analytic number theory will take place at the University of Cambridge on

Monday, 14th January 2019.

The series is funded by an LMS Scheme 3 Grant (31623).

Programme | Registration | How to get here | Participants | Bristol 2014 | Oxford 2015 | Bristol 2015 | Oxford 2016 | Imperial 2016 | Warwick 2017 | Bristol 2018 | Oxford 2018


10:45-11:15: Coffee and welcome

11:15-11:55: Ariel Rapaport, Cambridge
   Dimension of planar self-affine sets and measures

12:00-13:30: Lunch

13:30-14:10: Katherine Staden, Oxford
   The minimum number of additive tuples in groups of prime order

14:15-14:55: Jason Long, Cambridge
   Partial Associativity in Latin Squares

15:00-15:30: Coffee

15:30-16:10: Winston Heap, UCL
   The maximum of the Riemann zeta function on the 1-line

16:15-16:55: Christopher Frei, Manchester
   Number fields with prescribed norms

All talks will take place in MR3 in the Centre for Mathematical Sciences in Cambridge.

Return to top


To register please fill in this google form by January 7th (you can edit your responses later, or simply email me). The participants list below will be updated accordingly.

Return to top

How to get here

Detailed travel instructions are available from the webpage of the Centre for Mathematical Sciences. For most participants, the best way to get to Cambridge will be by train. From the train station you can either take a taxi to the Isaac Newton Institute on Clarkson Road (it usually costs under £8 and takes around 15 minutes), or take the UNIversal bus, which can be used by anyone (it costs £2 for non-University members, and takes around 20 minutes, timetable here). Entrance to the CMS is via the Gatehouse, on the footpath between Clarkson and Madingley Road.

Return to top


* Adam Harper, Warwick
Akshat Mudgal, Bristol
Aled Walker, Cambridge
Andrea Sartori, UCL
* Ben Green, Oxford
Borys Kuca, Manchester
Brendan Murphy, Bristol
Christopher Frei, Manchester
Djordjo Milovic, UCL
* Emmanuel Breuillard, Cambridge
Gene Kopp, Bristol
Ioannis Tsokanos
James Aaronson, Oxford
James Maynard, Oxford
Javier Pliego, Bristol
Jonathan Bober, Bristol
Jonathan Chapman, Manchester
* Julia Wolf, Cambridge
Kirsti Biggs, Bristol
Nikoleta Kalaydzhieva, UCL
Oleksiy Klurman, UCL
Peter Humphries, UCL
* Peter Varju, Cambridge
Ruoyi Wang, Oxford
Sam Chow, York
* Sean Prendiville, Manchester
Sofia Lindqvist, Oxford
Thomas Bloom, Cambridge
* Tim Browning, Bristol/IST
Wenqiang Xu
Winston Heap, UCL

* Organisers

Return to top

This page was last updated 15th December 2018.