Bristol-Oxbridge-Warwick-London (BOWL) 1-day meeting @ Bristol 2018

BOWL @ Bristol 2018

The seventh 1-day meeting in additive combinatorics and analytic number theory will take place on

Thursday, 8th February 2018

at the University of Bristol. The event is funded by an LMS Scheme 3 Grant (31623) and the School of Mathematics at the University of Bristol.

Programme | Participants | Travel information | Bristol 2014 | Oxford 2015 | Bristol 2015 | Oxford 2016 | Imperial 2016 | Warwick 2017


13:00-13:15: registration

13:15-13:55: Stephen Lester (QMUL)
   Sign changes of fourier coefficients of half integral weight modular forms

14:00-14:40: Brendan Murphy (Bristol)

14:45-15:25: James Aaronson (Oxford)
   Sets of Integers with many Solutions to a Linear Equation

15:30-16:00 coffee break

16:00-16:40: Adelina Manzateanu (Bristol)
   Rational curves on cubic hypersurfaces over Fq

16:45-17:25: Mohammad Bardestani (Cambridge)
Polynomial configurations in sets of positive upper density over local fields

All talks will take place in the 4th floor seminar room at Howard House (please click for directions).

We will be publicising dinner arrangements nearer the time.

Return to top

Travel information

Howard House is located here, and some generic travel information is available on this University page.

The main train station in Bristol is Bristol Temple Meads. You may check departure and arrival times on the National Rail website. Advance purchase of tickets is highly recommended.

Upon arriving at the train station you may take buses no. 8 or 9 in the direction of Clifton, leaving from the bay on the right just beyond the taxi rank. Get off the bus at the Clifton triangle, the top of Park Street, opposite the Wills memorial tower. A single trip costs £1.50 if bought on the mobile and £2 if bought from the driver in cash, and usually takes under 20 minutes. Timetables are available here. A taxi from the train station to Howard House normally costs under £10, and the trip should take less than 15 minutes.

Return to top


James Aaronson, University of Oxford
Ardavan Afshar, UCL
Keith Ball, Warwick
Mansur Boase, University of Cambridge
Pierre-Yves Bienvenu, University of Bristol
Jonathan Bober, University of Bristol
Kirsti Biggs, University of Bristol
* Emmanuel Breuillard, University of Cambridge
* Tim Browning, University of Bristol
James Cann, UCL
Sam Chow, York
Sean Eberhard, G-Research
* Ben Green, University of Oxford
* Adam Harper, University of Warwick
Kevin Hughes, University of Bristol
Samuel Le Fourn, ENS Lyon
Sofia Lindqvist, University of Oxford
Eoin Long, University of Oxford
Adelina Manzateanu, University of Bristol
Vladimir Mitankin, University of Bristol
Djordjo Milovic, UCL
Akshat Mudgal, University of Bristol
Brendan Murphy, University of Bristol
Sarah Peluse, Stanford University
Oleg Pikhurko, Warwick
Javier Pliego, University of Bristol
Samuel Porritt, UCL
Konstantinos Poulias, University of Bristol
Luka Rimanic, University of Bristol
Nick Rome, University of Bristol
Samir Sikses, Warwick
Sophie Stevens, University of Bristol
Alex Torzewski, Warwick
* Peter Varju, University of Cambridge
Vinay Viswanathan, University of Bristol
Aled Walker, University of Oxford
* Julia Wolf, University of Bristol
Trevor Wooley, University of Bristol
Stan Xiao, University of Oxford

* Organisers

Return to top

This page was last updated 12th January 2018.